Pilgrimage of Dreams 14

The dean and three of the staff workers stood at the front while the orphans are standing in a row, greetings the noble that visits the orphanage on the 24th of December.

“Young miss of the Volitient Duchy, a young sorcerer has forged clothe to keep the children warm during this harsh winter…”

The servants took a step forward and informed the dean.

On hearing that it was of the Ducal estate, the dean immediately bow down.

“Greetings to the lady”

The dean turns towards the children.

“Children, quickly thanks the benevolent lady”

She hurriedly instructs.

I step down from the carriage, holding the patchwork teddy bear a bit tighter. I peered at the orphanage children who barely have a warm enough clothes at this cold weather.

The servants that follow me walk around the children, giving them coat, gloves, pants, boots… to the children.

The coat was thin, on the surface it seems as if it should be of summer clothes.

The children secretly glance at me but I ignore them.

I wait patiently for the servants to deliver the clothes to all the children.

*

Skeptical expression adorns the faces of the children but the orphanage children kept it to themselves.

They have learned to not displease the nobles.

Even if it may not be able to warm them, adding another layer of clothes bore no harm in the cold weather.

The children started to put on the coat.

Warm…

The cold winter temperature that penetrates their clothes started to retreat, warmness engulf the wearer of the clothes little by little.

The children who wear the coat were surprised.

Perplexed.

The coat was so thin, just like a summer wear, how did it warm them up?

Question mark filled their heart.

“Young miss has inscribe a sigil that will make the clothes adjust to any temperature the wearer body needs”

They then heard the servant explanation.

The dean and the children gasp.

They said that runic and sigils are precious incantation, to use it on the clothes they wear, it was so wasteful…

Why did the noble do so?

The children curiously look at the beautiful silver hair girl. She is very elegant and has that prestige noble bearing.

A scholar monocle was adorned by the beautiful silver hair girl.

She seems grand, but the patchwork teddy bear she holds give a huge contrast to her noble bearings. She appears a bit cute in a way, a teddy bear with her serious expression.

They then saw the servants brought down yet another thing out. A cylindrical shape vase?

“This is a gas and this is a gas stove”

The servants started to demonstrate the used of the ‘Gas’ and ‘Gas stove’, when it was lit up, it generate fire.

“Wow”

“Fire…”

“Is that magic?”

The children exclaim in surprised.

The ‘Gas’ does not need fire wood to create fire.

“It must be magic”

“How amazing?”

“What is it used for?”

They asked each other.

“This machination can be used for cooking. The young miss specially invented this so that firewood would not be needed to collect in this cold weather”

The servants said.

“The ether imbued sigil will run out after six month, here is ether imbued sigil slip. Just paste it on the ‘Gas’ and the element that can make fire will be refilled again, the ducal house will send the slip every six month”

The servants gave five slips to the dean.

The Dean was marveled and felt it hard to found her voice.

How can such a convenient machination be given to the orphanage?

The servants said the young miss have invented them.

The dean took a glance at the young silver hair child who stood beside the carriage with a serious expression.

The child has a cold expression.

The dean looks at the cute, patchwork teddy bear of varying fabrics. A large heart was on the left side of the teddy bear.

The dean started to smile.

A kind child…

When winter arrives, the orphanage children suffered.

The painful voice of the children must have reach the heaven and sent a saint to relief the pain of the children.

The winter is bitingly cold after all.

The winter will no longer bite them anymore.

*

Seriously, why did the servant mention me at every interval when he introduces those items?!

It is annoying.

It is emba-

I harden my face.

I am too embarrassed to open my mouth and stop the chattering servant.

I didn’t make those thinking of the orphans. I just did because I thought it is convenient. Wouldn’t it be good if cooking became easier?

I won’t have to use firewood to cook foo-

I mean, lightning up the cauldron will be much easier instead of always needing to steer the wood when I try to melt and forge items.

In any case, I thought of what to sell at my store and I research the market and know that sorcerer focus more on potion and combative type artifact forging.

They do not waste time on ‘useless’ house appliances.

So, I will take up forging house appliances item as well. It will sell well as I will be the only one.

My store is going to be variety store after all.

“This is a books for the children. Basic language book, basic sorcery book, basic warrior book and basic swords man book”

The servants said.

He pauses and turns to me.

“Young miss has directly made a copy from the ducal library, to have every person an opportunity to learn”

Dude, stop!

I am so fed up that I get inside the carriage.

Books from middle section onward are off limit, although mother give me the key to the library and practically make me the owner, I don’t want to whimsically give them away. They are collected laboriously by others and not me.

But the basic should be learned and known by whoever awakened their sorcerer ether perception, those who have a good insight on swordsman, those that can channel vague Prana.

Just because they are not born in a good environment doesn’t mean they should be deprived of learning, being buried forever without knowing their potential.

Every child has the right for education.

At least, that is the ethical law I learn of my previous world.

Although I am not idealistic in thinking that I will create a better world, I am not so indifferent either.

What I can do, at least the basic, I will do it.

I have grown up under the right ethical value after all, there is no way I can discard that just because I reincarnate in another world with different status system.

Do not trust anyone but do not think badly of anyone.


POD 13 —- Table of Contents —– POD 15

One response to “Pilgrimage of Dreams 14”

  1. […] POD 12 —– Table of Contents —— POD 14 […]

    Like

Leave a comment

A WordPress.com Website.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started