Pilgrimage of Dreams 21

I enter ‘Meira Alora Store’ from the back so that the customer will not see me. Need to do things stealthily.

I don’t want to attract attention with the knights and maids following me.

“I did a calculation Ruru, the star told me you have a strong connection with this store. I supposed you are the owner of this store”

The astrologer lean a little bit closer to me. She beams looking at my face.

As I’ve said before, I’ll ignore her. I can at least do that.

Also, I would prefer if she call me Meir or Meira instead. Meira is my previous life name, anyhow both Meir and Meira has the same meaning which is ‘Light’. My personality is so dark. I don’t know why I have such a bright name.

“I’m correct right?” The astrologer tilts her head and look at me, crooning.

As the daughter of the master of the celestial tower that was a very-very important existence to the country, this astrologer girl who is the daughter of the celestial tower master surely has a high status so I feel rude to let Mina tell her off, when she is this close to me.

When she is out of sight, everything is fine.

I am very close to the person I don’t want to have interaction with, I can tell her off myself so I feel embarrassed to let Mina do the hard work.

Them being a cultist aside, I just am not interested in befriending anyone. Socializing take up energy…

Once we reach the basement door, I turn towards the astrologer girl finally paying attention to her. Her expression brightens as I finally acknowledge her presence.

Her face is a bit too close to me though.

“I’m going to do a work, don’t follow me inside”

“I won’t disturb you” She state “Please, Ruru…” She begs.

She blinks pitifully.

She has a very beautiful face, somehow almost ethereal. Her pitiful expression on such a beautiful face would make one all the more soft hearted and be hurt on her behalf when she make that expression. Trying everything with their might to makes her happy.

Because it was my first time experiencing, I was defeated. Plus, she was so close.

There she was, inside the basement, behind me looking at me inscribing sigils on the huge elevator box like.

What a blunder!

I will not be seduced by beauty ever again.

Human are visual creatures, they like beautiful thing. As a fellow human, I am no exception. I churn my conscious thought furiously, to defeat my instinctive visual judgment. I will never be swayed or seduced by mere appearance anymore.

This will be the *not* first (been swayed by beauty many times in previous life) and the last.

Coming back to what I’m currently doing, I plan on turning this box into a teleportation box. Like an elevator but more of a teleportation elevator?

Anyway, it’s cool so why not?

I can definitely use the teleportation scroll but we have to think clearly on where we want to teleport. It was only a one-time use too. So, I will turn this box so that it will be able to teleport me to many different places. It will function in such a way that I will not have to thought about it clearly.

What will happen if we don’t thought of it clearly? Then the scroll will teleport us randomly to any place. I still don’t know how that randomness works though. I’ll have to look into it.

Space is an extensive term with extensive usage.

My knowledge on it is very low level, those sorcerer who understand the law of space also does not have the in depth knowledge of it. Useless creature…

Any book related to space is a welcomed commodity to me. I also study the space sigils that are unidentified, reading them up every night before I go to bed.

My spare time to create more jointed ball dolls.

During evening, I will read up incantations as I cannot slack off when there are still so many incantations to learn.

My schedule is tight you know…

Do you think things can be done in just an hour? a month?

I will never understand how those main character can learn a whole library worth book in a day or even a month. I could never…

I am a busy, hard-working thirteen years old girl. Sigh…

So, about the teleportation box, I will have to set the coordination to my room, to my lab and…

“…”

Where will I set?

I finally realized, I have rarely goes out and don’t have many places I know. It’s either my room or the lab.

Aiss… whatever… let’s first set the coordination to the two places first.

“Ruru, what are you working on?”

The astrologist leans so close that her face is beside me. As I was squatting down, the black hair girl bends down, the posture as if she was leaning on me.

“Stay back, you’re diverting my attention”

The astrologer sensible leans back.

And so, I figure my weakness yet again. As I have so less contact with people of outside manor after coming to this world, I am prone to distraction when people intrude. I have to strengthen my will.

Conscious thought, come on!

Finding my potential weakness is a good thing, my friend used to tell me I am very bad at understanding my own self and have no self awareness, I want to say ‘Dude, I am very self-aware!’

I just don’t pay attention to it at first. Once I do, I work on it. Harumph!

For reference, I am not distracted by mere civilians. I am distracted with people who have strong presence. For example, a main character, for example, important side characters…

As well as those who stood out in an unusual way.

I have to learn to term their presence lukewarmly. My consciousness is not allowed to treat them specially, come on me!

“Ruru, the star tell me that the things you’re working on is something related to connection, I was still on my learning phase so I cannot exactly calculate what it was that you are working on, it even have a faint feeling of some law”

I whip my head and glare at the astrologer girl. Perceiving my fed up expression, she wisely shut her mouth.

I spend quite a time in perfecting the teleportation box to my desire after which, I go up on the second floor, of course, with the astrologer girl on tow.

Her one maid and one Knight following closely as well, I don’t know why she has so less people following her but that is of no concern to me.

I sat on the chair, the astrologer girl sitting in front of me.

Looking at the faintly smiling astrologer, I ask her a question that have nagged me since her intrusion in my daily life “You should have known by now that I don’t want to be associated with you. Why do you keep trying?”

I asked her frankly.

“Because I want to be friends with you”

She simply reply, still having that faint smile.

I stare at her with a dead set gaze.

After a minute or so, she relents.

“Sigh… Why so stubborn? Can’t you just accept that simple reason?”

She makes that pitiful face again.

I fall for once, it won’t happen again. I still quietly stare at her.

“Fine… I guess friendship demands sincerity after all. This is the first time I am going to make a friend, I’ll have to do my best in wooing a friend” She makes a fist sign as if to encourage herself.

She fixed her expression and started telling an elaborate narration.

“Our line of family deals with studying the stars, being in contact with celestial star for generation. We are able to calculate people natal chart, reading their horoscope, doing numerology. Every child that was born will have their life read by the elders, I include. One’s own time of dead can be felt by every celestial dweller and it limits to one own self but unlike others, mine can be felt by others as well. At the time I was born, the elders have read that I will have a short span of life. Not even reaching the age of thirty. If a person was read that he will have a bad character, his readings can be change by guiding him in the right path. No path is ever definite, bad prediction is more of preventing things from getting bad. But there is one thing that is unchangeable, fate. A person life can be read that he will die early if he drinks alcohol, he can change the reading by never drinking alcohol. But if it is fated that he will die on that date, he will die one way or the other. It cannot be prevented or changed. Just like so, I was fated to die before age thirty”

A smile fills the girl but her eyes expressed a deep set of melancholy.

“I felt a bit reconciled…” She pause “On my twelfth birthday, I request the used of the star globe of answer that are allowed to used only after meeting strict condition. Maybe because of taking a pity on me, they allow me to use one time even though I don’t meet the strict requirement. I asked something which I will not tell you, that’s my personal secret. The globe show me the date and the scene where I can meet you”

“So…” she clasp her hand together “Can you be my friend and spend my short life with me before I die?”

She smile, a bit sadly so.


PIL 20 / Table of Contents / POD 22

2 responses to “Pilgrimage of Dreams 21”

  1. […] POD 19 / Table of Contents / POD 21 […]

    Like

  2. […] POD21 / Table of Contents / POD23 […]

    Like

Leave a comment

A WordPress.com Website.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started